The Chilton Group

Magnetism, Spectroscopy, Theory

Dr Nicholas F. Chilton MRSC - Ramsay Memorial Research Fellow

Dr. Chilton completed his undergraduate degree (B.Sc. Adv. Hons.) at Monash University, Melbourne, Australia in 2011, and his Ph.D. at The University of Manchester in 2015 under the supervision of Prof. Richard Winpenny and Prof. Eric McInnes. In 2015 he was awarded the Dalton Young Researchers award by the Royal Society of Chemistry. He is currently a Ramsay Memorial Research Fellow at The University of Manchester. Download Dr. Chilton's CV

Dr Daniel Reta - Post Doctoral Research Associate (2016 - )

Dr Reta completed his undergraduate degree at Universidad de Navarra, Spain in 2011, and his Ph.D. at the Universidad de Barcelona in 2016 under the supervision of Prof. Francesc Illas and Prof. Iberio de P. R. Moreira. His research interests centre on the theoretical and computational study of the electronic structure of highly correlated systems. In the past, he has dealt with the problem of accurately describing magnetic interactions in 3d coordination compounds and with the design of purely organic polyradicals showing interesting magnetic properties (namely high-spin ground state and large ferromagnetic exchange coupling constants). After a post-doctoral stay with Prof. Nik Kaltsoyannis working on the electronic and structural properties of uranium-based molecules, he started a new project under the supervison of Dr Chilton in collaboration with Profs. Winpenny, McInnes, Liddle and Dr Mills. His work focusses on the investigation and theoretical modelling of highly axial single molecule magnets.

Dr Michele Vonci - Post Doctoral Research Associate (2016 - )

Dr Vonci studied at the University of Florence where he obtained his Laurea in Chemistry under the supervision of Prof. Roberta Sessoli and Prof. Andrea Caneschi with a thesis – largely carried out in the laboratory of Prof. Richard Winpenny at the University of Manchester – on the synthesis and theoretical modelling of the magnetic properties of polynuclear nickel(II) and cobalt(II) complexes. In 2013 he started a PhD with Assoc. Prof. Colette Boskovic the University of Melbourne on the spectroscopic and theoretical investigation of the electronic properties of lanthanide-polyoxometalate single molecule magnets, using in particular inelastic neutron scattering and ab-initio CASSCF approaches. At the moment his research, in collaboration with Prof. Eric McInnes, is focused on the comprehensive characterisation (EPR, magnetometry) and description of the electronic structure of families of lanthanide complexes that do not follow Bleaney's pseudo-contact NMR shift theory, attempting to identify the origin of these discrepancies.

Marcus Giansiracusa - PhD student (President's Doctoral Scholarship, 2017 - )

Marcus' first exposure to research began with an undergraduate research project as part of the Robson/Abrahams group at the University of Melbourne. He went on to completed his MSc in Chemistry with a joint project between the Boskovic and Soncini research groups, involving the experimental and computational investigation of polyoxometalate supported single-molecule magnets. As a President's Doctoral Scholar, his PhD project concerns examination of the magnetic interactions between 4f and 5f ions in polymetallic complexes, using SQUID magnetometry, EPR spectroscopy and computational methods.

Jon Kragskow - MChem student (2017/2018)

Jon is a 4th year student currently undertaking his MChem research project in the Chilton group. After a brief exposure to synthetic chemistry with Dr David Mills (2nd year project, Nuffield bursary), Jon decided his interests lie in understanding the magnetic properties of molecules, rather than how to make them. To that end, he undertook a 3rd year summer research project in the Chilton group, sponsored by an RSC bursary, to model the magnetic properties of near-linear transition metal complexes, through use of CASSCF calculations and spin Hamiltonian methods. For his MChem project, he is writing a new tool for directly extracting the crystal field Hamiltonian from CASSCF calculations, to simplify modelling experimental data.


MChem: Ismaeel Ramzan (2016/2017), Michael Godsall (2016/2017), Carys Williams (2015/2016)

Visitors: You-Song Ding (China, 2016), Emil Damgaard-Møller (Denmark, 2016/2017)